With summer right around the corner, you probably have one dessert on your mind: s’mores. The ooey-gooey seasonal essential is just as fun to make as it is to eat. Unfortunately, every single part of the traditional marshmallow, graham cracker, and chocolate line-up contains animal products.
Typical ingredients for s’mores are all no-gos. Marshmallows contain gelatin (which is made from animal skin, tendons, bones, and ligaments), graham crackers often contain honey, and chocolate usually contains milk. But just because the brands you grew up with aren’t vegan-friendly doesn’t mean s’mores aren’t a possibility. With these simple swaps, you’ll be sitting around the campfire eating your favorite summer treat in no time.
1. First Choose Vegan Graham Crackers
While many brands of graham crackers contain honey, there are also a good handful that don’t. And guess what? They taste equally delicious. Here are a few options:
- Keebler Original Grahams Crackers
- Nabisco Grahams Original Crackers
- Kinnikinnick Gluten Free S’moreables Graham Style Crackers
2. Then Get Some Vegan Marshmallows
Since the thought of eating gelatin should gross out just about anyone, buying vegan marshmallows instead might just be the best decision you’ve ever made. Try these:
- Dandies Original Vanilla Marshmallows
- Trader Joe’s Marshmallows
- Ananda’s Original Gelatin-Free Marshmallows
3. Last But Not Least, Grab Your Vegan Chocolate
While melt-in-your-mouth milk chocolate is easy to fall in love with, finding the right vegan option will leave you equally as smitten. These are great ones to start with:
- Milkless Vegan Chocolate Bars
- Alter Eco – Dark Quinoa Organic Chocolate
- SunSpire Dream Milk Chocolate Bar
There’s only one step left: Building a fire and roasting your way to chocolatey goodness.