8 Popular Candy Options You Had No Idea Were Vegan

what candy is vegan

With Halloween coming up, it’s impossible to avoid candy. It’s everywhere you turn. Unfortunately, when you don’t eat milk, gelatin, and other animal products, it might seem like most of your old favorites are off-limits. There’s no way candies like Sour Patch Kids and Airheads are vegan, right? Let’s just say you might be surprised at how many options there actually are.

Many don’t advertise it, but plenty of top-selling candies are accidentally vegan. Take Smarties, for instance, which recently celebrated 70 years of business. Lucky for you, that’s only the beginning of the mouth-watering choices you have at the grocery store, and here are eight tasty options to get your hands on.

Shop These Top Accidentally Vegan Candies

1. Dum Dums

That’s right—these popular suckers are vegan. Every flavor is A-okay, so you can choose whichever one you want. Which, as you probably know, is easier said than done.2. Jolly Ranchers

You can eat as many delicious Jolly Ranchers as you want. Bonus points if they turn your tongue blue.3. Grape Nerds

Not all nerds are vegan due to containing carmine—a red and pink food dye that’s made from bugs—but the grape variety is. So pour yourself a handful. Or, dump them straight into your mouth.4. Skittles

These fruit-flavored candies are the best vegan treats to devour this Halloween… and, well, anytime. We won’t even tell if you eat the whole bag. While the original flavor is the most popular, all of them are vegan-friendly.

5. Sour Patch Kids

Are you a fan of sour treats? Never fear, because unlike most gummies, Sour Patch Kids are safe to enjoy. FYI: You can eat the watermelon version, too.6. Twizzlers

Whether you’re Team Twizzlers or Team Red Vines, you can rip them apart and enjoy either as your new go-to vegan treat. Extra bonus: Every type is safe to eat, from the filled bites to the rainbow twists.7. Pixy Stix

Who doesn’t remember eating Pixy Stix as a kid? You can relive your childhood—and the extreme sugar high!—once again with this vegan treat.

8. Airheads

When it comes to Airheads, you can choose any flavor you want. The only product to avoid? Airheads Bites, as they contain gelatin, shellac, and beeswax. Otherwise, you’re good to go.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

2019 © herbivore times. all rights reserved.